Magic Hour

Morning! A short post (because I’m at work and I should be doing other things…).

At first I was going to name this post “Golden Hour”. The term used in photography for the light just after sunrise or before sunset. In this short period of time the low sun creates shadows that seem softer and the yellow and orange blend into a perfect golden colour. Good for picture taking!

But then I changed my mind.

Because I don’t want to talk about photography specifically, I want to say something about finding your creative moment. All creative endeavours need a special mind-set. Some people can turn it on and off as they wish (also known as PEOPLE  WHO NEED TO LEARN ME THIS TRICK).

Others, like myself, have to show up, do the work and hope for the best. Sometimes that best is horrible (No, I’m not exaggerating, you should read some of the things I wrote). But sometimes magic happens. Shiny, sparkling words make their way to the paper.  I think this is when people start talking about their muse, when creativity takes over your conscience brain.

Not all the words that are written during this magic hour are good.

(All That Glitters is not gold. – Shakespeare)

But sometimes they are.

(All That is Gold Does Not Glitter- Tolkien)

Yes I really wanted to use both sentences because I like that when you switch a couple of words the meaning will be the exact opposite. And yes, it probably doesn’t make sense in this context, but I don’t care.

So even though I have to show up, do the work and hope for the magic to follow, I still think I fare better at a specific time. Early in the morning is my favourite writing time, but those hours are sparse so I usually settle for second best : the hours between eight and ten in the evening.

I’m curious what your Magic hour is and how you found it. Let me know 🙂

5 thoughts on “Magic Hour

  1. Hope says:

    I have a difficult time writing at home because of many distractions, so I find time when I go to school and I have a couple of hours before class. It’s quieter and somehow I focus more in the library or computer lab. There really isn’t a specific time that I write because it usually depends on my schedule, but anytime I have an opportunity to write, I take it!

    Like

    • That’s a good attitude, to write when you can 🙂 I do not excel in using all time opportunties, because I have an easily distracted mind and sometimes I even catch myself waiting for the opportunity to be perfect.
      I will write more when …(also known as blablabla). 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

